External vs Internal

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by sstv, Sep 4, 2019.

1. sstv

sstv Legend

Jul 30, 2006
    DALLAS TX
    Hi All
    This is a followup to my "External case" posting and its a no no.
    Now that the "case"problem has been cleared up thanks to Coastal and others for the fine examples, I got to thinking, why not just replace the Internal drive. This is easy to do per other postings and examples shown on YouTube. The myth of SSD short life in a DVR has been proven wrong and I have been using a SSD in my computer for four years of daily use with no problems. As far as cost, the nod goes to internal by a large margin. Most of the swaps have been for more drive space but in my case, I would swap the 1tb drive for 500gb drive as my recording habits do not require a large drive. The drive will be a SSB to get rid of noise and heat. The HR42 works fine with a 500gb drive. The only disadvantage is you should put the original drive back in if the unit is returned.
    SSTV

2. P Smith

P Smith Mr. FixAnything

Jul 25, 2002
    W.Mdtrn Sea
    You missed big point: WinOS PC features written to support SPECIFICALLY SSD...
    The DVR's OS (Linux variant) does not

3. sstv

sstv Legend

Jul 30, 2006
    DALLAS TX
    What happens if i put a 1tb ssd in my HR44-700? This posting supports my posting .
    SSTV

4. Rich

Rich DBSTalk Club DBSTalk Club

Feb 22, 2007
    Piscataway, NJ
    Not in that thread it didn't. We were told what might happen if mounted internally and I stuck with external mounting. Read thru that thread again.

Rich

5. codespy

codespy Go Pack Go!!!! DBSTalk Club

Mar 29, 2006
    Seasonal
    I put a SSD in my 24 earlier this year. It got really hot, but not enough to trigger the fan high enough compared to a standard HDD. I believe it suffered some damage due to heat, in that it freezes once a week now and I have to do a reboot. Had no trouble with any other SSD’s mounted in external drives.

6. Rich