I'm with you. I've done this several times. While the info banner can be removed by pressing Info, I know of no other way to get rid of the progress bar but by pressing Exit. It's especially a pain when I'm transferring to DVD! With DVD, you can't rewind and record over mistakes. So, you end up with another program you don't want stuck in the middle of the program you're trying to keep!