1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Genie on the way... do I keep it?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by GregM535, Aug 13, 2013.

1. GregM535

GregM535 New Member

Jul 9, 2013
    Boston, MA
    I am an newbie here, so bear with me.

My setup currently has two HR24-100's - each using an external 1GB hard drive. One of the HR24's started having issues with pixelization and then came up with a repairing hard drive error screen after a red button reboot yesterday. I think it "fixed" the errors, but I have read that the error screen is the beginning of the drive or device dying. I am on the support plan and I was planning on replacing one of the HR24's with the HR44 in March2014 for free under the plan (assuming the HR44's would be readily available in March). It would be nice to not have to worry about recording conflicts.

My main gripe with the HR24-100's is the fans are loud and run constantly, even though I am using external drives.

I called customer retention and after a longish talk they are giving me a $250 credit towards a Genie (the Genie will cost $52 after taxes) to replace the possibly bad HR24-100, and they are shipping the Genie over night. Trouble is I have no idea which model Genie will show up. I don't think the HR44's are in the North East region yet, but I don't know if that matters since they are shipping it to me. My troubled HR24-100 seems to be working OK at the moment, but I don't know how long that will be the case.

If an HR44 shows up I will certainly keep it, but since it seems an HR34 is more likely to show up, I am not sure what I should do. I have the option of refusing the shipment or returning it if the HR34 is delivered. The rep also told me that this will not affect my ability to upgrade my DVR's in March under the two year free upgrade service plan deal.