1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

getting movies with no phone line and no internet connection. ???

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by weluvnik, May 24, 2010.

1. weluvnik

weluvnik New Member

May 24, 2010
    Hi everyone, I am new to direct tv and am SO confused about ppv vs direct tv cinema vs direct tv on demand! And to make it even more confusing -- I was told we had to have either a phone line or an internet connection hooked to our receiver in order to use these services. But we have watched 3 new release movies so far and we don't have either connection! How is that possible? :)confused:btw, the reason we don't have the phone/internet hooked up to the receiver is because we are in a newly constructed house and when the installer came, those services hadn't been hooked up yet.)

2. RobertE

RobertE New Member

Jun 9, 2006
    The box will let you "buy" upto a certain amount before it cuts you off. Your probably pretty close right now to that cutoff point.

What you will need to do is to get a phone line or internet connection to that box at some point. Then you will need to call up and have the CSR force a callback. Then you can expect to see all the accumulated PPVs show up on your bill.

3. HerntDawg

HerntDawg Legend

Oct 6, 2008
    Oregon
    You can order them on D*'s website also if you have an account.

4. johns70

johns70 Legend

May 2, 2010
    When you get a phone line or internet connection you don't have to call directv and have them force a callback. The box(es) will get the info. sent to directv just fine.

5. weluvnik

weluvnik New Member

May 24, 2010
    I hadn't even looked at my bill, but you're right -- I just checked and we haven't been billed yet for those movies. I just couldn't figure out how my kids were able to order movies when the tech said we had to have a phone line. Thanks for your help!

6. Fabuloso

Fabuloso AllStar

Jun 13, 2009