GoodBye and Thank You

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by Earl Bonovich, May 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. May 6, 2008 #1 of 656
    Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich Lifetime Achiever

Nov 15, 2005
    When I graduated from college in 1996... I moved back in with my parents (my wedding was being planned).
    Part of the arrangement was that I would buy the DirecTV hardware, if they pay for the service plan.

Since then... I have been a DirecTV customer.

Around Christmas 2000... My mother purchased a 40hr Philips SA TiVo for me.
    Which I paired up with an RCA DirecTV receiver box. Probably a few days later, I found www.tivocommunity.com.

From there, I started to learn more... absorb...
    Not just about TiVo and DVR...
    Not just about how DirecTV technology worked...
    Not just about how the Internet Forum world worked...
    But also how important all of that combined played out...

Being a fast typer, someone that liked to stay busy. I continued to play a role in those communities... helping known and anonymous user...
    Then an opportunity opened up... get on the early pre-order for the HR10-250... and from a vendor that I already knew because of a great experience when purchasing my first HD STB.

Then a few weeks later, there was an article about the DTiVo R10... and that vendor asked me to do a "review" of it...
    Which I did... and enjoyed doing... And then that somehow moved me to a different level in the community...
    I had a name and now a voice that was slightly heard.

Then the R15 was announced... and quickly I jumped on the chance to do a review of it, as it was going to be "different".
    That difference poised a conflict of interest for that R15 discussion to continue at TCF..

After some searching and looking for a new "home" for it... Chris welcomed me in at DBSTalk.com

2. May 6, 2008 #2 of 656
    Earl Bonovich

Nov 15, 2005