1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hook Ethernet up to Whole-Home

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Connected Home' started by send2steph, Nov 3, 2011.

Tags:
  1. Nov 3, 2011 #1 of 37
    send2steph

send2steph New Member

Nov 3, 2011
    Please help me - I'm a total newb!

I live in a very rural area and for Internet access I'm using my cell phone tethered to my PC. I then share that Internet connection (as flaky and as slow as it is) across my Ethernet network using a switch.

We just had DirecTV installed (but apparently not well) with the Whole-Home DVR option with just one HR24 and then two non-DVR receivers.

I asked the installer how to hook up the receivers to my network (I have a ton of movies and recorded WMC TV files on my PC). He said that I'd need an adapter to go from coax to ethernet (or vice versa) and that I could buy it online. He also said not to plug my Ethernet into my receiver or it would mess up my whole-home DVR.

I'm confused as to what adapter I need. Could someone please point me to a specific Ebay or Amazon listing? I would appreciate it. (I just don't get it... DECA? Cinema kit? Powered? Not Powered?)

Then, I assume I'm just going to go from my Ethernet switch into the DirecTV Coax splitter, right? Then I ought to be able to see the DVR on my network, assuming I can give it an IP address.

Sorry to be such a newb... I promise to read more and start understanding this stuff - but in the meantime, my kids can only watch their old and beloved (pre-DirecTV) recorded TV on my PC until I figure out how to stream to these receivers across my network. I need them off my computer! ;)

2. Nov 3, 2011 #2 of 37
    Davenlr

Davenlr Geek til I die

Sep 16, 2006
  3. Nov 3, 2011 #3 of 37
    veryoldschool

veryoldschool Lifetime Achiever Staff Member Super Moderator DBSTalk Club

Dec 9, 2006