1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How long do you keep recordings per the "Keep Until" setting?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by Drew2k, Sep 9, 2012.

What is your recording KEEP UNTIL set to?

  1. Disk is Full

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. I Delete It

    43 vote(s)
    100.0%
  1. Sep 9, 2012 #1 of 28
    Drew2k

    Drew2k New Member

    14,514
    228
    Aug 16, 2006
    With DIRECTV there is a screen under MENU > Recordings > Manage Recordings > Record Defaults where you can set your recording defaults.

    The factory setting for how long to keep programs is until ""Disk is Full", but you can change the value to keep recordings until "I Delete It".

    What is your default recording KEEP UNTIL set to?

    1) Disk is Full
    2) I Delete It
     
  2. Sep 9, 2012 #2 of 28
    Drew2k

    Drew2k New Member

    14,514
    228
    Aug 16, 2006
    I have several DVRs, and when I first got each one, one of the first things I did was go to Record Defaults and change it to "Keep Until I Delete". I'd rather manage the deletion of the recordings myself, and I get a perverse pleasure out of pressing RED on a folder of programs to watch the percentage of free space grow dramatically. :p
     
  3. Sep 9, 2012 #3 of 28
    MysteryMan

    MysteryMan Well-Known Member DBSTalk Club

    8,772
    600
    May 17, 2010
    USA
    I use option 2 (I Delete It).
     
  4. Sep 9, 2012 #4 of 28
    dpeters11

    dpeters11 Hall Of Fame

    16,345
    503
    May 30, 2007
    Cincinnati
    I just use the default, but I don't come close to running out of space or keep things a long time.
     
  5. Sep 9, 2012 #5 of 28
    JACKIEGAGA

    JACKIEGAGA N.Y. FOOTBALL GIANTS

    5,617
    91
    Dec 11, 2006
    Long Island, NY
    Until I Delete
     
  6. Sep 9, 2012 #6 of 28
    Steve

    Steve Well-Known Member

    23,063
    154
    Aug 22, 2006
    Lower...
    "Disk full" here. If I'm going to save a season of something, I either manually tag the episodes with BLUE, or I change just that show's SL options.
     
  7. Sep 9, 2012 #7 of 28
    Sixto

    Sixto Well-Known Member

    12,224
    95
    Nov 18, 2005
    I use the default, keep until disk full, and then manually change individual recordings if needed, which has only been a few times ever.
     
  8. Sep 9, 2012 #8 of 28
    TBlazer07

    TBlazer07 Grumpy Grampy

    4,828
    7
    Feb 5, 2009
    I don't keep anything after watching. Never used keep before. :eek2:
     
  9. Sep 9, 2012 #9 of 28
    jagrim

    jagrim Hall Of Fame

    1,910
    65
    Aug 25, 2006
    I use the default setting. Have never had a "space issue" that caused something to delete.
     
  10. FHSPSU67

    FHSPSU67 CE'er & Retired Engineer DBSTalk Club

    2,592
    41
    Jan 12, 2007
    Windber, PA
    This!
     
  11. Go Beavs

    Go Beavs Hall Of Fame

    3,639
    58
    Nov 18, 2008
    Portland,...
    I use keep until the disk is full. Like others, if the show is in danger of being deleted, I'll use the blue button. I normally just delete the shows after viewing.
     
  12. TheRatPatrol

    TheRatPatrol Hall Of Fame

    7,347
    243
    Oct 1, 2003
    Phoenix, AZ
    Keep until I delete, record all episodes.
     
  13. RunnerFL

    RunnerFL Well-Known Member

    17,054
    312
    Jan 4, 2006
    I have enough space so I have keep until I delete.
     
  14. rmmccann

    rmmccann AllStar

    330
    20
    Apr 16, 2012
    ND, USA
    I leave mine at default - we're pretty good about keeping up with our recordings so there's no danger in something being deleted due to full disk. I'd much rather the DVR be able to handle a full disk situation though.

    On my old cable DVR system, I had one series set to record everything and I didn't realize it was recording dupes as well. It was in the Bedroom and I didn't have WHDVR with cable, so it rarely got used. I turned it on one day and it was completely locked up and non-functional because the disk was completely full. I ended up having to call the cable company and they had to replace the unit.

    I doubt DirecTV's units have this problem, but it's just an issue I'd rather avoid no matter how unlikely this time around.
     
  15. Drew2k

    Drew2k New Member

    14,514
    228
    Aug 16, 2006
    Before I got my HR34 I had spread my recordings out over multiple DVRs, sometimes leaving them there for weeks to a month before I'd view them, so I always wanted to know that they were safe and that I'd be the one to delete them.

    Now about 90% of my recordings are done on the HR34, but I still have it KUID because the drive is so big it can take a long time to get through just what I record in a week!

    I'm always behind, in other words! :p
     
  16. Laxguy

    Laxguy Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

    15,397
    585
    Dec 2, 2010
    Winters,...
    KID.

    I like to keep at least 30% of my HR20 free so long sports programs won't fill up the drive and be truncated. I don't want to risk other things being deleted if I were to have it "Until Full".

    Since I am replacing that with a '34, I won't have either drawback, and 10% free will do.
     
  17. Xsabresx

    Xsabresx Icon

    1,043
    4
    Oct 8, 2007
    Keep Until I Delete

    My hard drives never get below 85% so space is never an issue.
     
  18. inkahauts

    inkahauts Well-Known Member

    23,186
    1,173
    Nov 13, 2006
    Well, you can set the default to either..

    I use KID for tv series and movies, and generally leave that as the default for new recordings. I use Disk is full for sports and for programs I record that I might watch but don't necessarily watch that often or all of. For example, I have my units record all the late night news, and all the late night talk shows. I max the news at 1 program at a time, and the talk shows at 10... I then look through the late night shows once a week and blue the ones that have guests on I want to see, and then I watch those whenever I get around to it... But I would never want one of those shows to take space that could be used to record something more important...

    Your poll should have had a third option, depends on the program... :)
     
  19. Drew2k

    Drew2k New Member

    14,514
    228
    Aug 16, 2006
    From post 1, this looking at the Recording Defaults though, so there are only 2 choices, as shown on that setting under Menu > Recordings > Manage Recordings > Record Defaults.
     
  20. Rich

    Rich DBSTalk Club DBSTalk Club

    28,276
    655
    Feb 22, 2007
    Piscataway, NJ
    That's what I do, too. I never get close to filling up an HDD, so it doesn't really matter, but it's what I'm used to doing and I set my recording preferences accordingly.

    Rich
     

Share This Page