1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HR20 Defrag?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by Tiebmbr, Oct 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tiebmbr

Tiebmbr Godfather

Mar 27, 2007
    To any and all of those that know the inner workings of the HR20 far better than I do, are there any utilities that run internally on the HR20 that defrag data on the hard drive? As an Avid editor, I know the value of keeping my drives in pristine shape, free from old and unreferenced media, and its correlation to the performace of the gear, and was wondering if there is something the HR20 does invisibly to keep the disks in order?

If not, would it be prudent to include a rudimentary "clean-up" option on the unit?

2. davidord

davidord Godfather

Aug 16, 2006
    My understanding is the HR20 runs Linux as the base operating system and Linux is made in a way that it does not need defragmenting.

3. n3ntj

n3ntj Hall Of Fame

Dec 18, 2006
    Lancaster,...
    Are you saying that LINUX automatically moves files so that they are not fragmented?

I would think things like Defrag and ScanDisk (or similar utilities) would be helpful with DVRs to help prevent HDD problems down the road.

4. bsnelson

bsnelson I can has HR2x?

Jul 6, 2007
    If the HR20 uses anything similar to TiVo's file allocation strategy (note: not necessarily the same filesystem), it's probably moot because there's only one or two different allocation sizes (the larger being twice as big as the smaller), meaning every hole is a perfect fit for new data. This effectively eliminates the need for defrag.

The specialized nature of the video files (specifically, that they're always large files, and not that many of them in the scheme of things) makes this possible.

Brad

5. sbl

sbl Icon DBSTalk Club

Jul 21, 2007