1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HR34 issue? (DLNA)

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by ts_mpls, Dec 16, 2011.

1. ts_mpls

ts_mpls New Member

Dec 13, 2011
    Sorry if this is a dumb question (I'm new to DirecTV). From looking around on the net, it looks like there should be a "Music, Photos & More" option in the menu to let me view stuff off my network (video, etc). But I don't have that option on my brand new HR34 nor do I see any other way to do it.

Am I missing something or does the HR34 not have this feature yet?

Thanks,
    tim

2. Davenlr

Davenlr Geek til I die

Sep 16, 2006
    The HR34 will show that menu *if* it sees a computer on your network running a server program, like Tversity or PlayOn, etc. It *may* show music, photos shared with Microsoft Media player/center, although I havent tested that yet.

As for Tversity, which most use, there are reports that the newer releases do not work, so if you want to try it, search around and find which version most people are using that still works.

3. ts_mpls

ts_mpls New Member

Dec 13, 2011
    Thanks for the response. I do have TVersity installed but I just grabbed the most recent version (1.9.7). Based on some other posts, I went back to version 1.7.4.1 but I still don't see that option. I repeated the network setup on the HR34 and it said it successfully connected to the internet and my home network. And I verified that I can ping the HR34 from my computer but I still don't see that option. How do you troubleshoot this stuff?

4. ts_mpls

ts_mpls New Member

Dec 13, 2011
    Quick update, I think I ruled out a connectivity problem. Since the PC is a Windows 7 box, I turned on media sharing and that menu option instantly appeared. I couldn't actually stream anything (I'm assuming since it's not MPEG2 and Win7 doesn't transcode...?) but I could see everything.