1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HR54 Losing Wifi constantly

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by BigTony, May 28, 2018.

Tags:
  1. BigTony

BigTony New Member

Dec 26, 2007
    has anyone had issues with the HR54 and clients losing their internet connection frequently? I noticed it happened right after the last software update in April/May. I either have to reset the network connection, or reset the receiver to get the connection back.

I am a network engineer for a living and the issue is not the network. I have an amplifi mesh HD router and access points, and the receiver has an access point in the same room. I have even tried swapping to a different router and same issue. I have never had any probs like this in the 18 months i have had the gear.

The connection lasts roughly 12 hours then dies. I even had directv swap the receiver for a new one and the same thing was happening so i opted to put the old one back.

Curious if others are having the same prob.

2. Rich

Rich DBSTalk Club DBSTalk Club

Feb 22, 2007
    Piscataway, NJ
    Doesn't sound like the HRs are at fault. If the same issue occurs on multiple HRs how can the problem be with the HRs? Taking into consideration the specific problem you have. Haven't seen that problem before. I'd be looking at the wireless connection, always better to go hardwired.

Rich

ericknolls likes this.
  3. BigTony

BigTony New Member

Dec 26, 2007