I am brand new at DirecTV and I have some questions.

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by blucrzr, Apr 24, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. blucrzr

blucrzr New Member

Apr 24, 2002
    I just purchased a DirecTV satellite dish and receiver and have some questions. Please bear with me if this is rehashing old subjects. I found out after having the dish installed (and agreeing to a year contract) that I get many stations on Eastern time. I am in the Pacific time zone. I am now considering getting a recording device, and started with the store where I bought my dish. They are pushing UltimateTV, HARD. I immediately was put on guard because of this, and started to try to do some research. What I have found is mixed. I am here to see if maybe you can help me with the following:

* Comparing UltimateTV to TiVO.
    I have several friends that have TiVO and swear by it. From the little information I have been able to find, it appears that TiVO gives you better menus and interaction. Plus, to be honest, I hesitate to get UltimateTV simply because it is a Microsoft product.

* If I were to buy a DirecTV receiver with TiVO built into it, can I just "swap" that out with my current receiver? I don't have to replace the dish also, do I? My dish has dual output, so I was told I have to run a second line into the new receiver to get TiVO to work at it peak performance.

* What brand of TiVO receiver should I look for? One of my friends swears Panasonic is the way to go, that Sony has a noisy hard drive. What should I expect to pay for one of these?

* Since my dish is a Sony, can I use a different brand of receiver with it? I am guessing they are all standard and interchangeable, but I am new to this and have no idea.

Thanks in advance for your help, and your patience!

:)

2. Karl Foster

Karl Foster Hall Of Fame

Mar 23, 2002