1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'm a novice at cabling..

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Installation/MDU Discussion' started by Hotscot, Nov 19, 2008.

1. Hotscot

Hotscot Legend

Sep 25, 2008
    However I'm practicing.

I feel I'm doing something wrong though..I'm using R6 Quad, R6 Quad Compression Connectors from IDEAL and a compression connector tool, a basic one also from IDEAL that states it can be used for R6 Quad.

However when I terminate a cable and give it a tug it seems too easy to pull the connector off the cable.
    It's not like it's falling off but I feel it should take more strength than I'm giving it to come off.

Any thoughts?

2. DJTheC

DJTheC AllStar

Oct 31, 2007
    Ugh, Quad shield can be a pain to work with. I find it easier to snug a regular RG-6 connector onto RG-6Q cable than using an RG-6Q connector. It's just a slightly larger diameter because of the extra run of foil and braid.

Good luck with the practice, maybe you can work under me some day, haha.

3. Hotscot

Hotscot Legend

Sep 25, 2008
    Hmm..that's maybe worth considering, smaller connectors

4. joe diamond

joe diamond Hall Of Fame

Feb 28, 2007
    Now you are getting a feel for it!

RG6 quad shield is not used very much but you should have a bag of the fittings.

As DJtheC mentioned the regular 6 fitting will sometimes work better. He said sometimes because both the cable and the fittings vary enough that sometimes you need to improvise.

Depending on where you work it may be best to keep your cable in the heated part of the truck. Cold cable can be a bitch to splice. Consider sticking it in a running exhaust pipe. Awhile back I got a lighter that says "GITTERDONE" when you strike it. I keep it in the box I use for fittings and ground block supplies. It adds that professional touch when you have a professional cable heater and is easier than driving up to a house just to heat a cable end.