1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Install nightmare from installer view

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Installation/MDU Discussion' started by bstntech, Oct 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bstntech

bstntech Cool Member

Oct 1, 2007
    I am an installer and I red this forum every day, I love reading about what customers type in as install nightmares, Well I have and customer nightmare.
    Last week I had a HD upgrade scheduled, 1 H20 and a 5 LNB slimeline dish.
    When I got there, they had 2 lines run into the attic to a 3x4 multiswitch, no big deal with having 3 standard receivers, well when I told the customer that I would have to run a third line into the house from the groundblock, she was mad. Well she got over that and I continued, got the new dish mounted in the same location as the old one and she was upset that the dish was bigger, this after I showed her the dish and her husband said to go ahead.
    Moving on, I went to take the receiver inside and activate and she told me she told D* that she only wanted a H20-600, I only had H20-100s on my truck and she called D* and complained, well they convinced her to keep the 100. The rest of the activation went ok then when I was ready to leave I asked them if she wanted me to go ahead and take the old 3x4 multi switch since they could not use it for the HD install and she said since they could not use it go ahead and take it. Well a couple days later my office called me and told me the lady had called and said that I stole her switch, I returned the switch and the lady jumped my case saying I did not do what I was supposed to do, when I did all that was on the work order and even asked 3 times before I left if there was anything else I could help them with and she said no and her husband told me I did a great job.