1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Internet connection question....using wireless?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Connected Home' started by Guttboy, Jan 6, 2012.

1. Jan 6, 2012 #1 of 10
    Guttboy

Guttboy Legend

Sep 9, 2007
    Hi everyone,

I am by no means an internet expert but since we moved a few months ago I really would like to try to get VOD on our main TV.

While still trying to figure out the wiring in the house, I had an idea that I figured MAY work to obtain VOD.

Setup: I have an HR24/200 in the main room and I also have a SWiM connected. The installer from my Mover's Connection placed a power switch in the lower level of the house if that helps.

My DSL internet connection is in the office and I am using a Linksys WRT54GS so send wireless to the house.

I have another WRT45GS that is not being used.

Would it be possible to put the unused WRT45GS on top of the HR24 and run an ethernet cable to the Dtv box?

I have never used VOD but figured now is a good time to try and see if I can get this to work.

Thanks!

:)

2. Jan 6, 2012 #2 of 10
    Guttboy

Guttboy Legend

Sep 9, 2007
    Thoughts?

3. Jan 6, 2012 #3 of 10
    samrs

samrs MANC

May 30, 2004
    Flat Branch, NC
    GO REDSOX....2012

Your d11 is not swim compatable. Update your configuration or explain.

4. Jan 6, 2012 #4 of 10
    veryoldschool

veryoldschool Lifetime Achiever Staff Member Super Moderator DBSTalk Club

Dec 9, 2006
    yeah, it won't work because they're both access points. You need a gaming adapter to connect to the receiver.

5. Jan 7, 2012 #5 of 10
    CCarncross

CCarncross Hall Of Fame

Jul 19, 2005
    Jackson
    With the DD-WRT software you *could* turn your spare GS into a wireless bridge. It would work fine for VOD, just not so well for actual whole home MRV in HD.

6. Jan 8, 2012 #6 of 10
    The Merg

The Merg 1*

Jun 24, 2007
    Northern VA