Is this overkill for a sport bar with 13 receivers?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Installation/MDU Discussion' started by William L Whittenberger, Jul 28, 2019.

1. William L Whittenberger

William L Whittenberger New Member

Jul 28, 2019
    The pic only shows a splitter for 8 receivers. This is what I'm given to install for a sports bar that I install as a sub contractor. I have another customer that has 8 receivers with just a swm 8 splitter but they want to add 4 or 5 more receivers. Is all this eauipment needed or is it just plain overkill?
    I'm an AV and IT contractor but I'm no expert with DirecTV equipment We specialize more in AV over IP solutions. I'm trying to learn more about the DTV stuff though.

[​IMG]

2. slice1900

slice1900 Well-Known Member

Feb 14, 2013
    Iowa
    I question whether the amplifier is truly necessary, it would depend on how far the cable distance is to the dish, you don't need it for a single DSWM30. You could split the output of the PI instead of using separate ones for the DSWM30 and amp.

If you have 13 receivers, one 8 way splitter isn't going to be enough. Not sure what the thinking was there unless they are going to use 2 way splitters further down the line (ugly!) There should be another 8 way splitter coming off the second SWM port on the DSWM30 so every receiver can have a home run.

If this is a new install, not sure why they wouldn't use the new reverse band LNB, which requires 6 coax from the dish not 4, unless there was already a dish up there they didn't want to mess with. If they ever hope to do 4K they'll at least want the other two coaxes run and connected to everything so at worst you'd only need to swap the LNB.

3. William L Whittenberger

Jul 28, 2019