1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Just signed up...D* is confusing me.Need Help!

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Installation/MDU Discussion' started by JMS57, Nov 3, 2008.

1. Nov 3, 2008 #1 of 26
    JMS57

JMS57 Cool Member

Nov 3, 2008
    Hello All,

New member here and need some help. I ordered D* last week. I ordered the premium package, all HD channels, nba league pass, 2 hd dvr's, 1 hd receiver, and 1 standard box. I am not very technical, but after reading the forums here, I requested a swm slimline dish from them. When I received my shipment, instead of the swm slimline dish, they sent me the 5lnb dish with 4 outputs. I have been back and forth with them this past week trying to get the swm slimline dish because I only have one rg6 cable output in each room and did not want to have to run more cables or drill holes in the walls to be able to use both tuners from the dvr's.

I received a call from D* today, and they told me that they were going to ship me the swm 5 kit. I don't believe that this is the swm 5 lnb, but a different kind of kit that will work along with the dish that they have already sent me. I am just trying to confirm if this swm 5 kit will allow me to use all of the equipment listed above (incl both tuners in each dvr) without having to add any cables or drill holes. Any help would be much appreaciated. They are going to be shipping it out to me today, but if this won't work with what I want, I need to call them back asap to request something else if need be. Thanks!

2. Nov 3, 2008 #2 of 26
    veryoldschool

veryoldschool Lifetime Achiever Staff Member Super Moderator DBSTalk Club

Dec 9, 2006
    "It should be" a SWMLine LNB. What is your SD receiver? even if they were to send you [the now obsolete] SWM5 multi-switch, it would work for you.

3. Nov 3, 2008 #3 of 26
    JMS57

JMS57 Cool Member

Nov 3, 2008