Might seem like a weird question/request for info from experts

Discussion in 'Tech Talk - Gadgets, Gizmos and Technology' started by Bruce Rolff, Aug 13, 2018.

1. Bruce Rolff

Bruce Rolff New Member

Aug 13, 2018
    OK so I am looking to recreate the bad signal pixelated shifting tv image effect seen in bad storms with satellite TV. Just putting an attenuator in between did not work and the attenuators got very hot rather quickly. I later found out this is because the receiver supplies the dish with power. I also have been made familiar with the fact that it is a digital signal and the line between signal and no signal is a very fine line.

Does anyone know if there any way to achieve this effect. Someone said there is a way to use an attenuator setup with a shunted ground? I'm a total noob with this but If I can find out how to do it Im sure I can find someone to build a device for me. It was also suggested I put alum foil in front of the dish but that is difficult as the dish is on the roof and its just way too clunky an option.

2. jimmie57

jimmie57 Hall Of Fame

Jun 26, 2010
    Texas City, TX
    There is a thread about pixilation on some receivers and not others ( large installation ).
    The guys on here suggested that he was losing too much signal going thru multiple splitters. Every splitter drops the signal by x amount. The larger the splitter the larger the drop. You might try multiple splitters in the coax line to decrease the signal strength.
    ??
    Wait to see what some of the others have to say. Some are really sharp when it comes to the electrical side of these systems ( way over my head, whoosh, lol ).

3. Rich

Rich DBSTalk Club DBSTalk Club

Feb 22, 2007
    Piscataway, NJ
    Could you explain why and what you're trying to do in more detail?

Rich

trh likes this.
  4. P Smith

P Smith Mr. FixAnything

Jul 25, 2002
    W.Mdtrn Sea