1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Missing channels on even transponders?

Discussion in 'General DISH™ Discussion' started by obiewancoyote, Dec 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. obiewancoyote

obiewancoyote New Member

Dec 14, 2007
    Hi Guys,

I'm trying to sort our an issue w/ my DP311 and DP-Twin connection. I'm lost any channel seemingly of the 119 satellite on an even transponder (stuff like Nickelodeon, Disney, USA and the Food channel) . The Food channel's always been an issues since the install. But the majority of these channels are important as my twin boys have been driving their mother crazy w/o cartoons for the past week.

I've been through the cs process and they want to send out a tech. My wife is very uncomfortable w/ strangers in the house while I'm at work. So I'm trying to trouble shoot this on my own. I'm a lowly PC Tech with little knowledge of Sat TV service. But I'm hoping somebody can shed some light on the subject.

So my question if somebody just doesn't know the answer off hand.

The above channels are on even transponders. And I've noticed in the Dish Signal Strength/Check Switch dialog that it specifies "Odd" polarity. Does this mean my receiver is only "listening" to odd transponders?

If anyone has any idea what's up. I'd be happy to hear from them. Or if this has been posted somewhere else, and I missed the post... I do search for these things before asking.

Thanks much, -Coyote

2. TulsaOK

TulsaOK New Member

Feb 23, 2004
    :welcome_s

This may be worth trying; no guarantee.
    Disconnect the satellite cables from your receiver.
    Run a Check Switch.
    Reconnect the satellite cables and rerun your Check Switch.
    Good luck.

3. obiewancoyote

obiewancoyote New Member

Dec 14, 2007