1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modern Family on USA- Set First Run or Repeats?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by philherz, Nov 23, 2013.

1. philherz

philherz Legend

May 3, 2008
    Not sure if this is the correct forum to post this, but I've been recording first run Modern Family on ABC for a couple years.

If I set to record these on USA and I set it to record First Run, is that episodes that are first run on USA or first run "ever?" (Only ABC shows 'real" first run episodes!)

thnx

2. inkahauts

inkahauts Well-Known Member

Nov 13, 2006
    I'd probably just set I to both and be done with it. Not sure how try will denote it in the guide to be honest.

3. Steve

Steve Well-Known Member

Aug 22, 2006
    Lower...
    Hard to tell, since the To Do List populates at it's own pace, rather than immediately after a record request is scheduled, like with TiVo. E.g., I just created a Modern Family SL for "First Run" while on the 8PM ET Tuesday USA showing, and when I select "Other Showings", that's the only episode scheduled to record. If I modify that SL to "All" showings, no "Other Showing" episodes at all are showing as scheduled to record! I did check and that 8PM episode is still listed in the TDL.

I changed it back to "First Run", just to see what happens Tuesday night. There are about 5-6 episodes scheduled to air back to back.

4. RunnerFL

RunnerFL Well-Known Member

Jan 4, 2006
    It's syndication, they won't be listed as "First Run" so you're better off choosing "Both".

5. Steve

Steve Well-Known Member

Aug 22, 2006
    Lower...
    It's an hour later, and I just re-checked the Series Manager. All 13 upcoming USAHD episodes are now scheduled to record, so it looks like USA may be flagging them as "First Run" on their network.

That said, I wouldn't count on this happening all the time.

6. Laxguy

Laxguy Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

Dec 2, 2010