1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Move reciever to dish at a different location

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by qw3rty, Dec 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. qw3rty

qw3rty Cool Member

Dec 10, 2006
    Sorry for the dumb question but I am very new to this.

I have a subscription to DirecTV and have an extra receiver. I want to get another dish and put the extra receiver in my ice house this winter.

Is this possible, or will the receiver only work at this location?

2. HDTVsportsfan

HDTVsportsfan Active Member

Nov 29, 2005
    Having a seperate dish and receiver for your ice house shouldn't be a problem. I guess technically depending on where your ice house is physically located in relation to your existing billing address. I guess as long as it's on the same property you shouldn't have to open a second billing account.

To make this a little simplier. Activate the 2nd receiver, take the TV, dish, and receiver to the ice house, point the dish and have fun.

EDIT: I picture a ice house in the middle of a body of water. How are going to power this stuff up? Generator?

3. mike_augie

mike_augie You call I haul..

Oct 10, 2006
    The answer to your question is a easy one..... but.....LEGALLY....no.....But.....dtv states in black and white no....

4. qw3rty

qw3rty Cool Member

Dec 10, 2006
    Yeah there is already a TV with a UHF antennae that is powered with a generator.

It's not on the property, it's on a lake about 10 minutes away. Will that still work?

edit: I just checked the google map and the ice house is 5 miles away from my property. Is that to far away?

5. HDTVsportsfan

Nov 29, 2005
    I re-read my original post and it wasn't exactly clear. I'm not suggesting illegal activity.