Moving Hopper from one house to another

Discussion in 'General DISH™ Discussion' started by failurite, Jun 10, 2021.

1. failurite

failurite New Member

Jun 10, 2021
    I'm a newbie to Dish network, I bought a house with a tenant in it already. The house has a dish and the prior owner had Dish Network that was working up until a couple days ago when they disconnected.

The Tenant has Dish at another house and simply wants to relocate their Hopper to this house (seemed simple enough). They called Dish and relocated the address to this address and Dish said they'd be all set.

When we plug it into the same plug that the old one was plugged into it says some 9999 message, then it says searching for signal with a gray bar that never moves and just hangs forever. The tech says they can't come out for at least three weeks. Does anyone have any suggestions? This seems like the simplest thing in the world. Unclear why it wouldn't "just work".

Thanks!

2. NYDutch

NYDutch DBSTalk Club DBSTalk Club

Dec 28, 2013
    What model receiver do they have? That will let us direct them through the process to do a connection test to the "new" DISH to make sure it's registered correctly. Dish uses two different sets of satellites, and the old dish may have been aimed at a different set then the "new" dish. Either set will work, but a test needs to be run to let the receiver know which set it's using.

3. harsh

harsh Beware the Attack Basset

Jun 14, 2003
    Salem, OR
    DISH employs multiple (four?) technologies to make the connection between the receiver(s) and the dish and these require different hardware as well as different settings. It could be that a part on the dish itself needs to be replaced. The Hoppers use one of two technologies depending on the model of the Hopper (there are four Hopper models). If the previous tenant had a different model Hopper or a non-Hopper, that's likely the problem and some hardware will have to be swapped out.

4. scooper