MRV First Look - Collaborative thread

Discussion in 'DIRECTV - Special Request (private)' started by Stuart Sweet, Apr 30, 2009.

1. Apr 30, 2009 #1 of 102
    Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet The Shadow Knows!

Jun 18, 2006
    Let's all work together on the First Look for MRV. Start by suggesting changes to this document, and we'll go from there.

2. Apr 30, 2009 #2 of 102
    LameLefty

LameLefty I used to be a rocket scientist

Sep 28, 2006
    Middle...
    Stuart - I would add in the FAQ section that DD 5.1 does work with MRV if the recording is of a program that provides it. Files are streamed over the network by the server DVR with no modifications.

I would also suggest that those who create this eventual finished product write up in some detail how they are networked (including hardware models not just networking protocol) and how it works or what limitations they have encountered in specific situations as examples for others to see and learn from when they build or update their own LANs to support MRV. The final .pdf can either include this information directly or link to it perhaps.

3. Apr 30, 2009 #3 of 102
    Stuart Sweet

Jun 18, 2006
    I'm hoping that dettxw will join us, make these edits to the word file he created, and I can go from there.

4. Apr 30, 2009 #4 of 102
    Spanky_Partain

Spanky_Partain Active Member

Dec 7, 2006
    Change
    One of the most anticipated features by DirecTV subscribers is available now!
    It’s Multiple Room Viewing (MRV) and if you can use your DVR or DIRECTV2PC then you can MRV.
    It can be accomplished with a server connected to a client through your home network.
    The server is any HR2x HD DVR, and the client can also be any HR2x HD DVR or an H21 HD receiver. All
    must be running the current Cutting Edge (CE) firmware.

To:
    [centered]First Look, MRV[/centered]
    MRV can be accomplished with a server and client connected through the home network.