My HOA has issues

Discussion in 'General DISH™ Discussion' started by Rob Boyle, Dec 16, 2018.

1. Rob Boyle

Rob Boyle New Member

Dec 16, 2018
    Hello DBS,
    I'm a property manager stuck in the middle of a hotel style dish install gone bad.
    I figured I better start studying up on how a Dish signal gets split and shared by many units.

From what Ive read so far I think the items we have installed will be adequate once installation is comeplete.

It looks like we will have one dish split and boosted to cover up to 10 units with up to 4 tvs in each unit. PRobably looking at cable runs of up to 600'

I'll have to go check the cable and see if it is solid copper core.

we have 4 of the DPH42 switches with power inserter boosters splitting the signal from one dish.
    dish1.jpg

2. P Smith

P Smith Mr. FixAnything

Jul 25, 2002
    W.Mdtrn Sea
    the closet is look nice ,,,
    but the two powerstrips !
    no good for outdoor install, need install power outlets with IP44 at least

3. P Smith

P Smith Mr. FixAnything

Jul 25, 2002
    W.Mdtrn Sea
    it's irrelevant
    how many dish devices and what kind in each unit ?
    hoppers ?
    joys ?
    wallys ?

4. P Smith

P Smith Mr. FixAnything

Jul 25, 2002
    W.Mdtrn Sea
    really ?!
    see what DPH42 book outlined :
    looks like you should call MDU installers or at least call SolidSignal to find real solution

5. Rob Boyle

Rob Boyle New Member

Dec 16, 2018
    Thanks for the feedback. I will look those services up.

This panel is expected to service about 40 wallys, in 10 units going as far as 600 ft from the panel. I've realized that the company we are working with is not delivering on their promises and just trying to educate myself so I can make informed decisions

6. Rob Boyle

Rob Boyle New Member

Dec 16, 2018
    Does the 140 ft number shown in the DPH42 book include the increase distance from the power inserter?

looks like the number of wallys is fine, its the distance