1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

my swm-8

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Installation/MDU Discussion' started by dodge boy, Mar 20, 2009.

1. dodge boy

dodge boy R.I.P. Chris Henry

Mar 31, 2006
    I am going to install my SWM-8 today... YEAH!!!!

my current multi-switch has 4 inputs from the dish going to it and 6 outputs coming out. Can I run 4 of the 6 outputs from the multi switch to the inputs on the SWM-8? Thst would allow me to use my DVR in my computer room to get my MPEG 4 locals instead of running it off of legacy ports, since that would prevent me from getting my locals there.
    Thanks...

2. LameLefty

LameLefty I used to be a rocket scientist

Sep 28, 2006
    Middle...
    I'm confused. What DVR do you have in your computer room that gets MPEG4 locals? If it's MPEG4-compatible, it's also SWM-compatible. :confused:

3. dodge boy

Mar 31, 2006
    It's an R22 but I am also putting 2 dvrs in my living room, 1 in my master bed room and 1 in my spair room, the bedrooms and living room would have 1 cable each. That's 5 DVRS 10 tuners total

4. dodge boy

Mar 31, 2006
    I have an R22 in my computer room, (2 lines) I have a DVR in my bed room (1 line) Spare room DVR (1 line) and 2 lines in my living room (I want to add a 2nd DVR there too) If I add the SWM-8 downstream of my multi switch I will not need to run another line at all. I will still get 2 tuners on my 4 receivers with 1 line and I will still get my locals in the computer room, If I run that one off of legacy ports I won't.

5. doctrsnoop

doctrsnoop Godfather

Nov 20, 2007
    can you run extra lines to some locations? You're going to be short 2 tuners with just the SWM8. If you can run the SWM8 parallel you'll have plenty of extra outlets

6. dodge boy

Mar 31, 2006