1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

N00b needs help!!

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by tonyinvc, Jul 25, 2010.

1. tonyinvc

tonyinvc Cool Member

Jul 25, 2010
    I'm new to DTV (about 1 hour old) and I'm curious as to what bells and whistles does the "advanced" HD DVR receiver has. Also is it necessary to pay the 1 time fee of 25.00 for the TV internet connection service? Won't the installer simply hook up the receiver to my router?

2. Davenlr

Davenlr Geek til I die

Sep 16, 2006
    Start here: http://www.dbstalk.com/showthread.php?t=151213

The installer will hook up an adapter to your router *IF* you order it on your install, and are also installing a Connected Home system (i.e. at least one HD DVR and a second HD receiver or DVR). As to what they charge, its all negotiable when you contract the install, but $25 sounds about right for the adapter.

3. jab5325

jab5325 Cool Member

Apr 14, 2010
    I'd never pay the $25 for the internet connection kit.

Unless you want a wireless connection, just get a piece of CAT5 cable and run it to your router. Works just the same and will save you money.

4. NR4P

NR4P Dad

Jan 15, 2007
    Sunny Florida

:welcome_s to dbstalk

By being one hour new to Directv I am not sure if you have had your install yet or just placed an order.

The internet connection service is part of the Whole Home DVR service where you can watch shows on any receiver or DVR. The interconnect connection is optional but that is normally part of the whole home service installation.

If you are getting more than one HD DVR, meaning other DVR's and/or receivers, I recommend doing this whole home dvr service at the same time and getting it connected to the internet. The internet connection isn't necessary but adds Video on Demand to the whole home DVR service.

5. hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001 Well-Known Member

Jul 28, 2004
    First of all...
    :welcome_s