New DirectTV Customer - Did I Get Shafted On Receiver They Installed?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by zwei, Feb 23, 2019.

1. zwei

zwei New Member

Feb 23, 2019
    I'm new to DirecTV so I'm just trying to catch up on the receiver model history and functionality but the Non-DirecTV contractor they sent to do the install apparently gave me a used, scratched up HR-44 for my receiver.

I only have two TV's, one of them 4k, and I do care about 4k content going forward when enough that I'm interested in is available. Also I plan on upgrading the DVR storage capacity with an external drive.

So did I get shafted by them giving me an HR-44 instead of HR-54, since the 44 seems to be a previous year model?

I even mentioned to the installer while he was here that the TV is 4k and I like 4k content and want to use it for that when they have content I'm intersted in broadcast in 4k. And he told me...this one will do everything you need for 4k. Sounds like that wasn't honest based on the quick research I've done so far, stating an HR-54 or HS-17 or something is needed for 4k content. Is that correct?

But I guess the other obvious concern is being signed up for a new account and thus 2 year contract with an older model receiver when it looks like a lot of people on the forum have been trying their best to get DirecTV to upgrade their older units.

Any suggestions and should I call the installer back about this issue?

2. WestDC

WestDC Well-Known Member

Feb 9, 2008
    Only the Hr54 & Hr17 -Will give you 4K -with a Client attached to a 4k Tv. -Did you request 4K when you order your service--If not -that's why you got a Hr44 --If you did you need to call back and Question why you ordered 4K Service and NONE was installed

jimmie57 likes this.
  3. zwei

zwei New Member

Feb 23, 2019