1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New house, can anyone help me with what I have?

Discussion in 'General DISH™ Discussion' started by avu3, Jun 24, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. avu3

avu3 New Member

Sep 6, 2004
    I'm new in my home and would like to know what I have before setting off to install/replace/etc. I'm a former directv guy, so the parts all look familar, but are connected in strange ways.

I've got two dishes on the house with dual LNBs pointed at different birds. Each LNB goes to a 2 into 1 spliter and sends a signal from each dish to two rooms in the house on a single cable to each room.

The system was initially installed in 2003, and the dishes say "dish 500" on them. based on the difference in mounting hardware there was an upgrade at some point to add the second dish.

Any clues as to what I have or what to look for to help identify it?

My goal would be to hook up four recievers - three single tuner in the bedrooms/garage and one dual tuner/tivo in the living room.

I'm competent enough to run my own cable, but I need a sense of what I have to know what to run.

I've been burned before on installs, so I'd like to have a foundation for whats here so I can have a quasi intelligent conversation with the folks when I call.

Thanks!
    Scott

2. rcbridge

rcbridge Godfather

Oct 31, 2002
    Are you switching to dish or staying with direct?
    It sounds like the previous owner had antenna pointed for 110/119 and 148. Dish birds. Do you have a compass you can check the az/angle.
    Most important which service are you going to use??

3. Slordak

Slordak Hall Of Fame

Dec 17, 2003
    I would guess you have two DP-21s, which is the "2 into 1 splitter" piece you refer to above (actually reverse-splitters, yes?). This is the configuration they often use if they have 2 dishes but are only going to hook up 2 tuners/receivers.