New Software During Daytime?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by kenmoo, Apr 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kenmoo

kenmoo Legend

Oct 3, 2006
    It's 9:30am in California and I'm recording one program and watching The Today Show from this morning. All of a sudden my HR20-700 starts downloading new software 02f4? What's that all about? Why did DirecTV force a software release during normal TV hours?

I've always gotten new software releases around 2am. Is there some National problem they are trying to fix or is this a change to normal procedures?

2. LameLefty

LameLefty I used to be a rocket scientist

Sep 28, 2006
    Middle...
    This release started rolling out nationally about 8 days ago. Most people seemed to have gotten it overnight as usual but for those others, for whatever reason, it has come during waking hours. It's possible your box was recording on previous "push" requests from the system, or had a weak signal due to weather at the time or whatever. Also, to be honest, 9:30 a.m. on a weekday is a relative low usage time for most users (obviously not you, at least not today).

But no, this is not some kind of "emergency" push, I don't think.

3. tcusta00

tcusta00 Active Member

Dec 31, 2007
    It should have popped up a selection box to ask if you wished to download now or later. Weird that it did it while you were recording something. Had you already deferred it once before?

4. steve053

steve053 Godfather

May 11, 2007
    Brookfield, WI
    I don't know, but my software was updated Tuesday (4/14) around 11 a.m. CST. I have a HR20-100.

Weird thing is that I cannot highlight the software update in my download history. Just skips right over it when I scroll through.

5. Doug Brott

Doug Brott Lifetime Achiever DBSTalk Club

Jul 12, 2006
    Los Angeles