1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New to Directv

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by DAVID A JOHNSON, Oct 11, 2010.

1. DAVID A JOHNSON

DAVID A JOHNSON Mentor

Feb 7, 2006
    Hello Folks,

I'm new to Directv. I've posted on here several times the last few weeks about the fact that I was considering Directv. Well, I got installed on Saturday. Got to watch all the games on Sunday with ST. That was awesome. I've got several problems, and I wanted to see if any of you guru's can give me some thoughts. I was a customer of Dish Network for 10 years, so I'm familiar with their terminology. If I misuse terminology, please excuse me. Here is my setup.

Slimline Dish, 8 way splitter in the house, 2 HR24-500's, 3 H24-700's, and 2 SD receivers (D-12's I think), 1 DECA. That's 8 wires taking up 9 tuners plus the DECA. I think that's the underlying problem with my setup according to my installer, but he isn't positive. Here are the problems:

(1) At some points with all 7 receivers powered up and running, one receiver will act like it's not getting a satellite signal. Then, we turn off one receiver, and the one that's "acting up" will come back. Then, we turn all 7 on again, and another one of the HD receivers will "act up".

(2) The Whole Home DVR setup will disconnect periodically then come back then disconnect again. The H24's keep acting like they are schizoid with it. I keep getting those messages about disconnection across the bottom right of the screen.

(3) The DECA is not being recognized. It's acting like it doesn't exist.