Newbie Hr21

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by indiana324, May 14, 2008.

1. indiana324

indiana324 Cool Member

May 14, 2008
    Hey People,

Newbie here and wondering what are the best changes i can make to the hr21...ive found 30 skip and im gonna try media option...i have it on my network and on demand working..what else is worth doing to it??

Thanks for your advice!!

Mike

2. Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo Lifetime Achiever

Oct 20, 2006
    Welcome to DBSTalk

If you want to change your sort by for your "My Playlist" and want it to stay the same way every time you go to it you need to use a hidden menu to activate it.

Do a keyword search for "IAMANEDGECUTTER"-->continue-->all-->when it finds nothing press and hold the menu and info button together on the front of the unit for 2 seconds and let go. A hidden menu will pop up and you can turn sort by on. Then go to your "My Playlist" and press the yellow button and go to the sort by option. When you change it that time it will remember your selection and stay that way.

3. Greg Alsobrook

Greg Alsobrook Lifetime Achiever

Apr 1, 2007
    :welcome_s to DBSTalk!

Sounds like you've made a great start. You could also consider purchasing the add on OTA tuner (AM21) for $50 if you would like to integrate your local OTA channels into your HR21.

4. indiana324

indiana324 Cool Member

May 14, 2008
    i already get my over the air channels on direct tv..is that what you meant??

5. Spanky_Partain

Spanky_Partain Active Member

Dec 7, 2006
    The AM21 actually hooks up to an outside antenna and provides ATSC reception and access from the HR21 guide menu. Not everyone gets ALL local channels in HD due to some of the legal reasons and holding out.

I have two in my area that I have to use OTA to get high def on.

6. mcbeevee

mcbeevee 97% Complete

Sep 18, 2006