1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No difference between Native On/Off and 480, 720, 1080...

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by CHaynes112, Dec 7, 2009.

1. Dec 7, 2009 #1 of 27
    CHaynes112

CHaynes112 AllStar

Dec 2, 2009
    Greetings,

I'm new to the HDTV scene (but fairly tech savy). I just bought a new 60" Plasma (LG 60PS11) and have been trying to "tweak" everything to get the best possible experience. I have did a few basic things like disable energy star mode, change from vivid to standard, and enable 24p mode. I have also made a few audio changes like enable auto volume level and enable TruSurround XT (as I don't have a real 5.1/7.1 surround system yet). I am getting ready to calibrate my TV as well (hopefully this will improve my SD quality). I am currently using a HR20-100 (0x368) and have it connected to my TV via a HDMI cable.

I have been trying to experiment with the Native feature, and also different resolutions. Here's the thing... I can't seem to notice ANY difference with Native ON versus Native OFF? Also, I don't notice ANY difference when swapping resolutions (like going from 480i to 480p to 720p to 1080i)? Can someone explain this to me... Is my TV 'converting' everything to 1080p?

EDIT: I have all the modes enabled 480, 720, 1080...

Just an FYI, I do see the differences when toggling between Original, Crop, Pillar, etc....

-Thanks

2. Dec 7, 2009 #2 of 27
    harsh

harsh Beware the Attack Basset

Jun 14, 2003
    Salem, OR
    Did you fully define all of the display modes the TV can do on the HR20? If you set it for native but only have 1080i as an option, it will convert everything to 1080i.

3. Dec 7, 2009 #3 of 27
    CHaynes112

CHaynes112 AllStar

Dec 2, 2009
    Yes, I have enabled all the modes. The screen will flash then it will say to press INFO if you can see the message.