The penalty is accessed immediately. Future penalties are separate. Thus if you opt out in Leg 2, for leg 2 you get -15 days. In Leg 3 and Leg 4 you add 2 days each. Thus your cummulative bonus would be -11 days since you were 2 weeks early. (And just to clarify, you do get penalized for the leg they actually are eliminated in if you opted out earlier... by survive I ment they are still active during that leg) Yield penalties are added after all others. If you aren't the leader after your penalty is added, then you won't get yielded by a leader yield. A fast forward that is won will basically counteract all prior penalties, but you would still be open to recieving it in the future if your team had still not been eliminated. Edited the rule above so its clearer on this regard.