1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OTA locals changing from UHF to VHF

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by egould, Jan 25, 2009.

1. egould

egould AllStar

Sep 25, 2007
    One of our local channels is switching from a UHF to a VHF frequency. I have an HR20 and recieve my locals OTA. When my local makes the changeover, do I need to do anything so that my DVR will continue to tune to that station? Thanks for any help.

2. LameLefty

LameLefty I used to be a rocket scientist

Sep 28, 2006
    Middle...
    No. The Guide data should be updated to reflect the change and the whole process should be transparent to you.

3. BattleZone

BattleZone Hall Of Fame

Nov 13, 2007
    However... if you have a UHF-only antenna, it might work ok for a VHF-hi station (7-13), but almost certainly won't work for a VHF-lo (2-6) station.

4. Pepster

Pepster Legend

Oct 29, 2008
    I'm surfing and today I found this website.
    http://www.iptv.org/iowajournal/story.cfm/432

5. HoTat2

HoTat2 Hall Of Fame

Nov 16, 2005
    Los...
    Indeed;

Since according to the records, it looks like your local NBC outlet WLBZ is going to one of the 30 or so oddball full-power stations nationwide to use the VHF-lo band for DTV after they transition.

In WLBZ’s case, from their current UHF channel 25 to their former analog channel 2. Therefore, make sure your antenna arrangement has a means to receive the VHF-lo band channels 2-6.

6. egould

egould AllStar

Sep 25, 2007
    Thanks to all of you. I have a collection of antennas from my various attempts to maximize my reception. One of them is equipped to receive VHF lo. In any event, we are scheduled to have locals in HD through D* sometime this quarter, so that should resolve everything anyway.

7. Pepster

Pepster Legend

Oct 29, 2008