1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PDF dissecting

Discussion in 'Tech Talk - Gadgets, Gizmos and Technology' started by AntAltMike, Oct 8, 2018.

1. Oct 8, 2018 #1 of 17
    AntAltMike

AntAltMike Hall Of Fame

Nov 20, 2004
    College...
    I'd like to be able to "cut" a photo out of a PDF file of a magazine article containing that picture, to retransmit it. I'm sure Adobe has something fairly cheap to do that, like their PDF-to-text converter that I have been paying $2 a month for, for the last three years, because I never decline the renewal. What is the cheapest way to do that?

2. Oct 8, 2018 #2 of 17
    Nick

Nick Retired, part-time PITA DBSTalk Club

Apr 23, 2002
    The...
    Can you copy/paste a PDF pic? Seems like I did that once like forever ago.

3. Oct 8, 2018 #3 of 17
    James Long

James Long Ready for Uplink! Staff Member Super Moderator DBSTalk Club

Apr 17, 2003
    Michiana
    Copy paste works for most PDFs I have taken images from (for personal use). Perhaps the magazine has copy protection?

4. Oct 8, 2018 #4 of 17
    trh

trh This Space for Sale

Nov 2, 2007
    NE FL
    Windows has a Snipping tool that allows you to capture any image (or text). Enlarge the PDF photo to the largest you can without pixelating before you 'snip'

5. Oct 8, 2018 #5 of 17
    AntAltMike

AntAltMike Hall Of Fame

Nov 20, 2004
    College...
    I described it as a magazine, but it is actually the scan of a 1948 Annual City Report that was done by a state university, so it is unlikely that they deliberately incorporated any copy protection.