1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Picture quality issue ...

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by Janice805, Nov 18, 2010.

1. Janice805

Janice805 Legend

Nov 26, 2005
    I've had a Sony 52XBR4 (LCD) as my main TV for several years now. I purchased (great deal from Costco) a Panasonic TCP54G20 (plasma). I have both going at the same time (out from my HR24) for testing. I'm new to the plasma world so I have a question.

My 52XBR4 is a GREAT TV and so it seems is the new plasma also, but, I thought that a "plasma" wouldn't have motion issues. I don't know how to properly explain what I'm trying to say. Sometimes on my LCD there are "slight" problems with fast motion, when strobe lights go off in a scene, or other. Anything from a fast blur, to fast, quick "blocks" if you will.

Anyway, having both side by side and running all day for comparison I've discovered any picture disturbances that I've (tried) to explain are happening to BOTH sets. Now, maybe my LCD was a pretty good set and the plasma didn't solve anything.

Is what I'm describing a Direct TV signal issue?

2. Hdhead

Hdhead Hall Of Fame

Jul 30, 2007
    Nature of the HDTV beast. Directv is broadcasting in full HD so it is not them. Digital artifacts are still common in situations as you describe. 720p or 1080p handles it much better than 1080i. I also have a plasma and several LCD sets and see the same thing.

3. harsh

harsh Beware the Attack Basset

Jun 14, 2003
    Salem, OR
    If you're seeing it on both TVs, it probably isn't the TVs.

Unless you also have an AM21 to compare local broadcast with what DIRECTV delivers, there's really no way to confirm whether the problem lies in the encoding or the HR24 itself.

It seems likely that it is an encoding issue. Knowing what channel(s) you're observing the symptoms on may help others to corroborate (or isolate) your symptoms.

4. harsh