1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question on scanning negatives & slides

Discussion in 'Tech Talk - Gadgets, Gizmos and Technology' started by Mike Bertelson, Jan 21, 2012.

1. Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson 6EQUJ5 WOW! Staff Member Super Moderator DBSTalk Club

Jan 24, 2007
    I started playing around with photography in high school. We had a new, high tech (for the mid ‘70s anyway) darkroom/classroom for photography class where I learned to shoot a develop film/photos (mostly E6 & C41). When I was in the Navy one of my duties was as the ships photographer. I have several boxes of photos and slides from the Navy (personal...official stuff was kept on the boat). At the time I also had a darkroom at home so another couple of boxes of slides/photos/negatives. In all there are several thousand pictures/slides/negatives. I want to digitize a lot of this and I’m looking at scanners. I’m most interested in scanning slides and negatives.

I’ve been reading reviews and specs on scanners for photos, slides, and negatives. Now I want to read what experiences people have had with these scanners. All the reviews and manufacturers descriptions don’t tell me what the real world use is like. They almost never include the little quirks and annoyances. Different models have differences in feature sets and that may mean a compromise in choosing one over another. I’d like to weed what compromises I can’t live with and figure which ones I can.

If you’ve done any scanning, particularly of slides and negatives, I want to know what problems you’ve run into. What annoyed you? What didn’t work the way you expected? IOW, the kinds of things you don’t see in reviews and specs/features.

TIA

Mike

2. clueless

clueless Legend

Dec 6, 2004
    How you tried dpreview.com for info?

3. Mike Bertelson

Jan 24, 2007
    I have. I just thought I'd also post here with people I know as well as my other research.

Mike