1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

R15 Stop Responding to Remote

Discussion in 'DIRECTV SD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by barney34, Jan 14, 2010.

1. barney34

barney34 Cool Member

May 28, 2007
    I see post in 2008 and 2006. Im new to the R15 world just over from Tivo. Anyways I notice quite very often when a show is paused for more than 3 minutes the remote no longer works. Most of the time not all the time if I push a button on the unit itself the show will begin to play and the remote is working again.

16 sets of batteries. 9 remotes. 1 sacrificed chicken. several prayers nothing works but physical access to the box.

2. hilmar2k

hilmar2k Hall Of Fame

Mar 18, 2007
    Well, you've tried everything I would have suggested. :D

3. The Merg

The Merg 1*

Jun 24, 2007
    Northern VA
    He forgot the goat. :)

- Merg

4. ThomasM

ThomasM RF Engineer

Jul 20, 2007
    Milwaukee, WI
    Very bizarre. I have never heard of this happening with an R15 before.

After it starts "ignoring" the remote, does the power light blink briefly when you press a button on the remote? Normally it does signifying reception of the command.

5. barney34

barney34 Cool Member

May 28, 2007
    Yes. Caveat.... The first press sends the circle of lights in a chaseing pattern and the screen saver goes off. All subsequent presses the power light blinks and the record graph flashes either on or off the TV opposite on its previous state.

6. jdspencer

jdspencer Hall Of Fame

Nov 7, 2003
    Have you checked for IR interference in the room? The backlight in LCD TVs can contribute to this, as can CFL lighting and another remote with a stuck button.

When you have the problem, try the remote up close to the unit.

7. harsh

harsh Beware the Attack Basset

Jun 14, 2003
    Salem, OR