1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Replacing non-SWM LNB and switch

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by TomCat, Oct 9, 2013.

1. Oct 9, 2013 #1 of 21
    TomCat

TomCat Broadcast Engineer

Aug 31, 2002
    I have been a customer for 9 years, and have a slimline 5 with 4 older HR-2x DVRs.

I have been having issues with inconsistent switching, and would like to replace the LNBF and switch with a SWM system to upgrade it. The wiring is all good. I am a pro/enterprise-level sat engineer by trade and extremely familiar with conventional DBS systems, but SWM, not so much. So you can converse with me in terms that I will understand, but where SWM is involved you may have to talk to me like a 3rd grader, both of which are just fine.

First, is this a good idea? And am I on the right track?

I do not have any interest in the HR-34 or the HR-44, but there might be things in the future that I would be interested in that depend upon SWM.

Can anyone tell me what I need to do? I see the LNBF on Solid Signal, but can I just swap that out with the 3-headed one on my SL5?

I assume I need a different switch to distribute to 4 DVRs to replace the conventional one I have now, and I assume I need some way to convert SWM for use with conventional, non-SWM DVRs. Or would I be better off to stay non-SWM, and just replace the LNBF with a conventional one?

Who can tell me what the proper path to do all of this might be? TIA.

2. Oct 9, 2013 #2 of 21
    Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet The Shadow Knows!

Jun 18, 2006
  3. Oct 9, 2013 #3 of 21
    otaliema

otaliema AllStar

Aug 9, 2012
    Mid-west USA
    Nice link stewart :) saved a lot of typing lol

4. Oct 9, 2013 #4 of 21
    TomCat

Aug 31, 2002
    Very cool, Stuart. Thank you so much. I have downloaded the pdf.

<edit>

OK, and now I've read it. But I have one Q, which is this: