1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Slingbox Question

Discussion in 'IPTV and Internet Video Delivery' started by nj1313, Feb 5, 2009.

1. Feb 5, 2009 #1 of 22
    nj1313

nj1313 Legend

Nov 2, 2007
    Richmond, VA
    I apologize if I've posted this in the wrong section...

I have the option to purchase either a Sling Media Slingbox PRO-HD SB300-100 or a Sling Media SlingCatcher SC100-100 Universal Media Player for TV.

Are there any major differences besides price?

I noticed the "catcher" has an HDMI input...

I'm new at this stuff and wanted to hook one of these up to my HR20-100 to watch television on my laptop and other televisions in my house...
    I also wanted to watch streaming videos in my house and be able to see my computer screen on my main television.

Do either one of these option give me these requests?

Thanks you in advance for any information that will help me to make a decision.

2. Feb 5, 2009 #2 of 22
    Chop69

Chop69 Legend

Aug 11, 2007
    A SlingBox and a SlingCatcher are two completely different things.

You have to have a SlingBox to use a SlingCatcher. The Catcher displays the video from the Box without needing a computer or portable device.

3. Feb 5, 2009 #3 of 22
    nj1313

nj1313 Legend

Nov 2, 2007
    Richmond, VA
    Thanks for the clarification...

SO I should be the Sling Media Slingbox PRO-HD SB300-100?

4. Feb 5, 2009 #4 of 22
    Chop69

Chop69 Legend

Aug 11, 2007
    Yep, as the Catcher would be a doorstop with a SlingBox.

Also, unless you are planning on slinging around HD video on you home network, the PRO may be a little overkill. Unless you have FIOS and have a high upload rate, you wont see any quality difference if you are slinging to the internet.

www.slingcommunity.com is the DBSTalk of SlingBoxes. :D

5. Feb 5, 2009 #5 of 22
    nj1313

nj1313 Legend

Nov 2, 2007
    Richmond, VA
    I do have FIOS internet...