Splitter Advice

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Installation/MDU Discussion' started by Andrew Schimmoeller, Sep 19, 2018.

1. Andrew Schimmoeller

Andrew Schimmoeller New Member

Sep 19, 2018
    Hi,

I'm a newbie and looking for advice.

I currently have a DirecTV coax line running into the input of a SWM 8-way splitter. One of the outputs of the splitter runs to my Connected Home Adapter. The other two outputs run to receivers, one to a Genie Gen 2 and one to a HD DVR, both are on the main floor of my house.

I'm finishing my basement and plan to have 3 new TVs in the basement all tuned to a new 3rd receiver which will be in my basement.

From what I've read, I'll have to buy a powered HDMI that is HDCP compliant and then run HDMI lines from the splitter to the new TVs. Is that correct?

Is there anyway I can split the existing signal that is coming into the SWM 8-way splitter and run it to the new TVs without having to buy a new receiver?

Thanks,
    Andrew

2. H1awatha

H1awatha New Member

Aug 2, 2018
    No. Any line coming from splitter goes to receiver. Get one receiver for basement and mirror the other two with hdmi switch

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

3. litzdog911

litzdog911 Well-Known Member

Jun 23, 2004
    Mill Creek, WA
    You'll need a Receiver in your basement, fed from one of the unused SWM8 outputs. Connect that Receiver via a powered HDMI splitter (supporting HDCP) to each of the basement HDTVs. Monoprice is a good source for powered, multi-output HDMI splitters.

4. Rich

Rich DBSTalk Club DBSTalk Club

Feb 22, 2007
    Piscataway, NJ
    I'd add this: Don't buy a cheap HDMI switch. I've done that several times and all the switches failed. Seems like inexpensive means poorly made when it comes to these devices.

Rich

5. Andrew Schimmoeller

Sep 19, 2018
    Do I need an HDMI splitter or an HDMI switch? Or are they the same thing?

Thanks again, I really appreciate it

6. Rich

Feb 22, 2007
    Piscataway, NJ