1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Switching out a standard receiver for an HD receiver

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by hikeraz, Oct 22, 2009.

1. hikeraz

hikeraz Cool Member

Sep 20, 2009
    I'm a newbie to DirecTV and had it recently installed (3 weeks ago). The forums here are great. I had a D12-100 receiver installed in the bedroom since we have an older CRT TV in there. Can I use a DirecTV HD receiver with the CRT TV? When I ordered DirecTV the CSR never mentioned whether this was possible and I assumed it was not possible. I've read on the forums about the potential for MRV capabilities coming up (We have an HR23-700 in the living room) as well as thinking about what happens in the future when the CRT TV dies.

If I contact a DirecTV CSR do you think they would allow me to swap the D12 SD receiver for an HD receiver without charging me for a new receiver?

2. JLucPicard

JLucPicard Hall Of Fame

Apr 27, 2004
    If your TV has more than just a coax input, I think you should be able to do this (like S-Video).

As for swapping, I'd be willing to bet since you just got installed that they would charge you $99 for the upgrade. Only way to know is to call and ask, but I wouldn't expect to swap for free.

3. harsh

harsh Beware the Attack Basset

Jun 14, 2003
    Salem, OR
    To build on what JLP said, the H2x series doesn't have an RF modulator so if your TV doesn't have line level inputs, it won't work without an external modulator.

DIRECTV will NOT allow you to "swap" the D12 for an H2x at this point. They will offer you a $99 upgrade along with free installation and any other equipment that you might need. You will also be required to subscribe to the HD Access package for an additional fee.

Aside from giving you an opportunity to view channels that are only available in HD, going to an HD receiver won't buy you much.

4. wmj5

wmj5 Godfather

Aug 26, 2007