1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tailgating - Set Up was Simple with Slimline

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Installation/MDU Discussion' started by SmittyLax6, Aug 24, 2010.

1. SmittyLax6

SmittyLax6 Cool Member

Dec 27, 2006
    Either I was super, super lucky or you guys made this out to be much harder than it was.

Since I have Giants season tix this year, but love my Sunday Ticket in HD, I decided that I needed to get a dish that could see the HD sats. This past Saturday before a preseason game, I set it up.

This was my set up. I had a tripod that I have been using for mobile set up for a few years. Unfortunately, the tripod only accomdates a 1.75 inch pipe to use as a mast. Slimline needs a 2 inch mast. I came up with the following solution: I cut the mast that came with the dish above the bend using a pipe cutter. I then sort of jammed the cut mast on to the pipe I had and wedged a bunch of industrial staples in there to hold it in place. I then covered where the two pipes met in duct tape. Now I had a 2 inch mast on a 1.75 inch pipe and could use my tripod.

The mast had the bubble level in the top so I simply used that to get the mast to be plum in my tripod. I had preset my elevation and tilt while at home so when I got to the stadium, all I had to do was put the dish on the mast and use my compass to find the correct Azimuth.