TERK RF Modulator not working? Not recieving any DISH signal through it?

Discussion in 'DISH™ OTA Support and Discussion Forum' started by sherilj, Apr 14, 2014.

1. sherilj

sherilj New Member

Apr 14, 2014
    indianapolis
    I recently bought my first HD TV. Great, except it meant having to switch my DISH DVR to the living room, as only the DVR had the HD cable hookup. I thought, well, I'm an engineer, how hard can this be. The TERK RF Modulator went into the spare room, where the DVR had been. We switched the cables outside too, so the proper signal was coming in to the proper set. Plugged the input into the RF Modulator, it into the VCR, and VCR into the TV. Well, VCR is says it is getting no input- it can't add channels because no input. Connecting modulator directly to TV doesn't do it either. No matter what the hookup I have black screen and snow on the tv. Green light on Modulator is not lit, suggesting it is getting no power, but it is plugged in, and to same strip as the VCR and TV. Even tried switching outlets. No change. Installation and system setup DISH screens (on the new tv) are showing both tv's as getting signal, no problems. Now, the modulator setup info on the DISH screens are still showing the modulator attached to TV 1, or at least, it is listed in the same box as TV 1, which is the new tv in the living room. I don't get it. Any suggestions, other than the $149 service call to have the system re-installed by DISH?

2. Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon Roving Reporter Staff Member Super Moderator DBSTalk Club

Jan 7, 2005
    Kittrell, NC
    Hi, and welcome... without knowing a lot more about your actual cabling it is hard to say for sure. Generally speaking, though, it sounds like you may need to do more re-cabling than you actually have done.

I can't speak to your actual configuration, but I'll give you an example of one that I had years ago.