1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Thinking of moving from E*

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by Thalador, Oct 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Thalador

Thalador Cool Member

Nov 27, 2006
    Greetings all. I am currently an E* customer and am thinking of jumping to the dark side :)

My question is this. I currently have the E* everything+HD+locals for programming. A bit pricey but oh well.. I have 4 TV's hooked up to this via 2 DVR's, 1 HD 1 SD.. I went to D* site to price something out and it doesnt look like their equipment does multiroom so:

What would be the most cost effective way to hook up 3 rooms, all with DVR's (1HD).

Is buying a Tivo a better option?

I had read somewhere that D* will "buy you out" of an E* contract. Is this the case?

I am new to this, so please be kind.

Thanks alot!

2. msmith198025

msmith198025 Member of the Year

Jun 28, 2007
    Welcome!

You could hook up two d* dvr's to four tv's but you would have to watch the same thing on the two you have tied together.

Tivo will not work with D* anymore unless you have the old Tivo box that D* offered. U miss ALOT of HD content with that.
    Id call and see what kind of deal they will give you onon One HR-20 plus whatever SD DVR's you need or if you can do without dvr's try the H-20

3. projectorguru

projectorguru Godfather

Mar 5, 2007