TV changed a lot in the 2010s, and the decade’s best reflects that

Discussion in 'TV Show Talk' started by Mark Holtz, Dec 22, 2019.

1. Mark Holtz

Mark Holtz New Texan

Mar 23, 2002
    Richardson,...
    From Ars Technica:

TV changed a lot in the 2010s, and the decade’s best reflects that
    FULL ARTICLE HERE

2. Mark Holtz

Mark Holtz New Texan

Mar 23, 2002
    Richardson,...
    I did not even have a mobile smartphone at the beginning of the decade. I held off until I graduated at the end of 2010, and I treated myself to an Android phone as a personal graduation present to myself, as carriers other than AT&T did not sell the I phone. Never looked back, and never regretted the decision. I remember when, on a New Years bus trip, I was watching some television shows that I had downloaded to my phone and was using a media player. My mother didn't quite grasp the concept. I have a sizable physical media collection, but have been slowly transferring the contents to a Plex Media Server for playback. When I moved to Texas at the beginning of the year, I did not purchase a TV for my own room, electing to watch the media on my phone or tablet.

3. James Long

James Long Ready for Uplink! Staff Member Super Moderator

Apr 17, 2003
    Michiana
    I had a "feature phone" as a cell phone. I didn't get a "smartphone" until late 2011 or 2012. It was about the same time as "cell phones" stopped being phones and started being "pocket computers". My voice minutes are virtually zero while text messages and data are blowing up my phone. In the previous decade I had a 350 minute plan and would occasionally max it out. In this decade I max out the data plan (text and voice are unlimited - since the cell company knows that text is cheap to provide and voice use is minor).