1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Very high 101 & 103, but no 99

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Installation/MDU Discussion' started by ronnie2hotty, Jan 26, 2009.

1. ronnie2hotty

ronnie2hotty New Member

Jan 25, 2009
    First off, if something like this has already been posted, I apologize that I am a newbie to this site.

I was looking for some help with my new Slimline3 dish. I set it up myself, and was able to locate the 101 and 103 satellites without much trouble. I am getting very high numbers on those, around 92 through 96. But I am having trouble locating the 99 satellite. I can't seem to get it, which means I am missing about 1/3 of my HD channels.

Can anyone help me out with some instructions on that 99? (Such as, 99 is lower and to the left of the 103, or even 2 1/2 turns left on the left/right 1 turn right on the up/down). Any kind of help would be greatly appreciated!!!!Thanks guys!!!

2. Mertzen

Mertzen Hall Of Fame

Dec 8, 2006
    Actually in ohio the 99 would be a bit higher then 101/103. You are sure that you have the correct tilt setting? Do ho have another LNB to test with ?

3. texasbrit

texasbrit Well-Known Member

Aug 9, 2006
    It does not work that way. If you have your dish mount plumb, and the tilt is set correctly, then high readings on 103c will automatically give good readings on 99c, it is just the way the dish is designed.

4. houskamp

houskamp Active Member

Sep 14, 2006
    Can you get 99 if you let 103 slip?

5. ronnie2hotty

ronnie2hotty New Member

Jan 25, 2009
    I've only been able to get any reading on the 99 for a very quick second. I was a very low number (20's) but when I tried to tweak it to get a higher reading, it dissapeared on me, never to return.

I've tried lowering my 103 to the 70's and look from there, but with no success.

6. ronnie2hotty

ronnie2hotty New Member

Jan 25, 2009