1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Voices sound like robots

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by bmlocal175, Feb 12, 2012.

1. bmlocal175

bmlocal175 Mentor

Jan 23, 2012
    Last night I switched to a Showtime channel and the comedians voice sounded like a robot. It was all garbled and sounded funny. I turned to a different channel and it was fine and then back and it was still messed up.

I recall the other night watching Gold Rush where I thought the voices sounded a little funny. My 8 yr old told me this morning that his shows, the people were talking funny. Any ideas?

I have the HR34. I'm using the digital RCA out to a Denon 4800 receiver. I have had this Denon for 10 years and never experienced this before with TW boxes hooked up both optical and RCA.

2. veryoldschool

veryoldschool Lifetime Achiever Staff Member Super Moderator DBSTalk Club

Dec 9, 2006
    Sounds like the audio may have gotten slightly off sync with Dolby.
    This either came from the DirecTV end, or was in your receiver. If you can rewind the show, it might clear up if it's in the receiver.

3. nednarb

nednarb Mentor

Nov 11, 2010
    Gold rush was also digital sounding for us also. Haven't noticed it any where else though.

4. cnmurray8

cnmurray8 Legend

Jun 19, 2008
    I noticed that same issue on MLB Network this morning.

5. JcT21

JcT21 Legend

Nov 29, 2004
    noticed the same thing yesterday on MSNBC. havent notcied it since then.

6. AquiringSat

AquiringSat AllStar

Jan 7, 2012
    +1

7. dsw2112

dsw2112 Always Searching

Jun 12, 2009
    Yep, Gold Rush was definitely a problem.

8. fdglsg

fdglsg Cool Member

Jul 21, 2008
    trying turning the receiver off and then back it always work for me....

9. bmlocal175

bmlocal175 Mentor

Jan 23, 2012
    Is there a reason this is happening or just a small glitch in the system every now and then?

10. bmlocal175

bmlocal175 Mentor