1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

what is a bbc

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by dparinisi, Aug 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dparinisi

dparinisi New Member

Aug 10, 2007
    I am new to this and the the teck talk so if some can tell me? Thanks

2. Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo Lifetime Achiever

Oct 20, 2006
    :welcome_s to DBStalk

BBC=Broad Band Converter

They are the little gray boxes that go in between the SAT lines and the HR20 or H20. They allow the receiver to receive lower frequencies (Ka lo) that the new HD channels will be on.

3. Tom Robertson

Tom Robertson Lifetime Achiever DBSTalk Club

Nov 15, 2005
    Welcome to the forums, dparinisi! :welcome_s

The BBC is a small gray or more recently black box that connects to the HD receiver or DVR. It takes the satellite signals from the two newest satellites (or will when they launch and turn on) and converts them to a frequency the receivers can use.

If you tune to channel 499 and the BBC(s) is working correctly you should get a signal missing error, 771.

Cheers,
    Tom

4. Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet The Shadow Knows!

Jun 18, 2006
    If you don't get that "Searching for signal" message, call customer service right away! You don't want to miss out on the new channels.

5. Kansas Zephyr

Kansas Zephyr Hall Of Fame

Jun 29, 2007
    I thought BBC stood for B-Band Converter.

6. LameLefty

LameLefty I used to be a rocket scientist

Sep 28, 2006
    Middle...
    It does. However, the functional explanations are correct. :)

7. MikeR

MikeR Hall Of Fame

Oct 5, 2006
  8. Lord Vader

Lord Vader Supreme Member DBSTalk Club

Sep 20, 2004
    Galactic Empire