1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What's up with the WD EVDS drives?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by Rich, Nov 6, 2010.

1. Nov 6, 2010 #1 of 37
    Rich

Rich DBSTalk Club DBSTalk Club

Feb 22, 2007
    Piscataway, NJ
    All of a sudden, I've been seeing posts stating that folks are having problems with WD EVDS drives. Especially when used with 24s. I have several EVDS 2TB drives, some internally in 20-700s and two externally on a 24-500 and a 24-200. The 20-700s using the EVDS drives are solid and can be "normally" used. But the 24-500 is another matter.

I got a 24-500 with my DECA install and immediately put a Thermaltake docking station with a WD20EVDS drive in it on the 500. For the first few weeks I had no problems. Then I started playing with my DECA system in a manner that made restarting the HRs necessary. I used the Menu Restart function to do this.

I've never had a problem using Menu Restart on my 20-700s with an external drive attached and I never gave it a thought when I restarted my 500 in the same manner. This happened a lot, because I found a bad DECA module and had to reset all the HRs several times. Long story short, I reset the 500 quite a few times using the Menu Restart. It came back each time correctly, or so it seemed. The Local Playlist came up correctly each time and I thought the 500 was doing well with the 2TB HDD on it.

Then a couple NRs hit and all my HRs came back online correctly. I thought.

I acquired a 24-200 and immediately put a TT on it with a WD20EVDS HDD. No problem.