Why can't we see the SEC first round in HD?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Programming' started by Eksynyt, Mar 12, 2009.

1. Eksynyt

Eksynyt Icon

Feb 8, 2008
    There's a perfectly good HD feed to use on FSS and it's blacked out and only shown on full court in nasty SD...looks like I'm watching through saran wrap. Seriously,why won't they let us see the HD feed?

2. miketorse

miketorse Icon

Jul 29, 2008
    They haven't figured out a way to charge you extra for it, so it's blacked out :)

3. LameLefty

LameLefty I used to be a rocket scientist

Sep 28, 2006
    Middle...
    In Nashville it's also being shown on channel 30, the local MyNetwork affiliate . . . also in SD. :rolleyes:

4. jefbal99

jefbal99 Hall Of Fame

Sep 7, 2007
    Is FSS repacking a Raycom HD feed? Raycom would be the one blacking it out.

5. bwaldron

bwaldron Impossible Dreamer

Oct 24, 2005
    Luckily I'm getting it on one of my local RSNs, Sun Sports HD (653; although guide data is incorrectly indicating I am watching the already-completed Women's tournament).

6. Eksynyt

Eksynyt Icon

Feb 8, 2008
    Yes but since I am paying for full court it seems ridiculous to black it out. Or for ESPN full court to not have HD feeds for that matter.

7. bwaldron

Oct 24, 2005
    Yes, the tournament is a Raycom production -- being shown on an OTA affiliate in some markets, on an RSN in others.

8. say-what

say-what Active Member

Dec 14, 2006
    New Orleans
    That works for me too - if you have the Sports Pack or Premier Package, should work.

FSS is blacked out and I get the SD Digital feed via my local MYTV station - no HD offerings yet.

9. bwaldron

Oct 24, 2005
    Blecch! At least our local MyNetwork TV affiliate shows the SEC games in HD (though they're only carrying the semifinals, the early rounds are via RSN here).

10. DCSholtis

DCSholtis Up The Irons!

Aug 7, 2002
    I'm getting the Raycom produced ACC game on NESN blackout free, but the SEC game is blacked out.

11. bwaldron